Monday, July 30, 2012

Goddess Fish blog tour: Aphrodite Calling, by Jennifer Lynne



BLURB:

A woman with a secret past

Gina Deveraux is forced to confront her painful past when she attends a high school reunion. Born with male genitalia, she spent her childhood and teen years living as a boy, and has only now returned in an effort to put the past behind her so she can begin to live life without the continuing fear of loneliness and rejection.
A god of sexual desire on the edge of burnout
Himeros is one of the erotes, an aspect of Eros, and as such it is his duty to answer the call of sexual desire whenever a human needs him. But he has been living among mortals too long and his interest has waned. When he decides to accept one last call he finds a woman who is unique. A woman who encapsulates the whole human experience in her body, and her soul. Has he finally found the one with whom even a god of desire could find fulfillment?
After all, forever is such a long time to be alone.
(Author's note: A more unlikely couple would probably be hard to find, but the alluring power of Aphrodite works in the most mysterious ways *G*)

Goddess's Review
I have read many Greek mythology inspired books. I love the genre and take each one for their own, not comparing them to each other, letting the author make the story their own. With that in mind I read Aphrodite Calling with an open mind. Himeros was awesome in every way, as a god of desire should be. Gina was lovely and overcame her obstacles before and after his help. The sex between them, I thought, was a little predictable with not much fire.  There really was no conflict between the two main character, no challenge for Himeros to overcome to get the girl. He wanted her he got her. However, with that said, I have to say I enjoyed the journey the couple was on to reach their goal.
3 pens.

Jennifer will award a $10 Amazon Gift Card and a gold-plated metal bookmark to a randomly drawn commenter and host from the tour.

Please follow the tour and comment. The more you comment, the better your chances are of winning. The tour dates can be found here: Aphrodite Calling blog tour 


Jennifer Lynne writes sensual and erotic romance from her home in Melbourne, Australia. She is the author of paranormal erotic romance Pandora's Gift, contemporary romance Seducing Serena in Secrets Volume 28 Sensual Cravings, both published by Red Sage, and Educating Ethan from Breathless Press. The first novella in her Gods of Love series, Platinum Passion, (released December 2011) was a Best Book of 2011 nominee in GLBT Fantasy Romance at The Romance Reviews.
 Jen loves her family, good coffee, red wine, and sitting by a cozy log fire watching the misty rain outside turn everything fresh and green. She hopes her tales of love and lust continue to excite readers, and her dream is to one day be able to write full-time.




Saturday, July 28, 2012

Goddess Fish Blog tour: Blind Heat, Nara Malone



BLURB:

Allie is determined to build an ordinary life. To survive, she needs to be the sort of woman no one notices. She has a generic job, lives in a generic apartment, and thinks maybe one day she’ll find an ordinary Joe who wants an average Jane sort of woman.

Marcus is anything but an ordinary Joe. Even if humans don’t know he’s a shifter and millennial being, he’s the sort of man women notice. A night of passion spent with Marcus is a night any female, human or Pantherian, won’t forget.

But Allie does forget. She repeatedly fails to recognize him even after an intense sexual encounter. Marcus discovers the source of her problem—face blindness, a genetic disorder with no cure. And he decides to use erotic rituals to teach her to see with more than her eyes. What he doesn’t count on is Allie seeing past the man—and recognizing the beast within.


SLAVE's Review:
Basically this story was a long, drawn out journey about the search for a cat and finding a life mate instead. For me this story really never caught fire. Just when I thought it was going somewhere it fizzed out. I got that the Allie couldn't remember faces, but what bugged me was how she fled at the drop of the hat whenever something went or or changed like she didn't expect.
2 pens
 

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Like the heroine, Allie, in Blind Heat, Nara is face blind and lived with the condition not knowing there was a medical explanation for her inability to remember faces.  It’s a rare and only recently publicized condition.  She hopes Blind Heat will help get the word out about face blindness.
Nara lives on a small farm in the shadow of the Blue Ridge Mountains. When she's not writing, she loves to run, hike, bike, and kayak. Every story she tells incorporates her love of animals, nature, and adventure.

Blogs:

Therianverse --blog containing interactive content for her books from two series that include therian shapeshifters –Patherian Passions, and Passions Portal.
Passions Portal-- interactive website for Shadowling Manor , the setting for the multi-author paranormal series.

Contact:
Nara_malone on Twitter
Nara.malone on Facebook

The interactive world Nara built for Blind Heat is here-- http://therianverse.com/naras-worlds%20

Monday, July 23, 2012

Goddess Fish book tour: To Have and To Hold, Dana Littlejohn


 
Christian and Andrea Cooper had made many plans on what they would do when their children were finally out of the house. Now that they were gone their plans had hit a snag. Christian had the chance to start his own company and promised to put their plans in motion as soon as it was off the ground. Andrea agreed to those terms, but she had no idea how lonely and neglected she would feel while she waited. On a trip to the city in search of something to do she ran into Raymond Reyes, her first love. Reminiscing with Ray brought back a flood of emotions that she found difficult to ignore. 
Did Andrea really make the right decision by marrying Christian after all? Could Ray convince her that this was their second chance and they were meant to be together?


Dana will be awarding five prizes, one randomly chosen commenter at each tour stop will win a prize. All are promo items displaying a different Dana Littlejohn design: 2- t-shirts (size XL), 1 coffee mug, 1 ink pen (black ink) and 1 baseball style hat. Follow the tour and make a comment. The more stops you comment on the better your chances are of winning. Follow the tour here: Dana's blog tour


Dana Littlejohn was born and raised in Brooklyn, NY, but has called Indianapolis, IN her home for over ten years. She works a nine to five at a nearby doctor's office while she pursues her dream of being an awesome well-known writer. Her writing to-do list grows daily. Stop by Dana's website to see what she's doing next. It's a ride you will not soon forget!
Website: Blog: FacebookTwitter @ authordanalittlejohn 

SLAVE’s Review
This was a spectacular story! I loved the small town feel with the big city troubles that this story gives. It’s a page turner directed at your libido.  Mmm…
5 ½ pens…refills and EXRA paper 


Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Queerwolf, by Rob Rosen


When you wake up on a ferry, naked, in a pool of blood, there’s nowhere else to go but up. Up, that is, into the arms of your hunky upstairs neighbor. And so starts the comic misadventure of Blake and Ted as they go from San Francisco to Salt Lake City to Las Vegas and back again, collecting their motley pack, not to mention a whole slew of unexpected surprises, along the way. Will good win out? Can different really be better? And can the Queerwolf keep his new breed of pack together and alive? Read on to find out, but better leave the doors locked because this pack travels on its stomach… and you could be next on the menu! 

SLAVE's Review

This book was a great disappointment. In fact, I was almost insulted as I read it. The characters were somewhat wishy-washy and so stereotypical I wanted to scream. The blurb led me to believe this would be a whodunit kind of thing, you know, find out why ole boy was on the ferry naked and covered in blood, but by page 80 of the 138 page book all I saw was over sexed young men, who giggled way too much and no forward drive on the story, thus I had no desire to finish it. 1 pen   

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Action, by Liz Borino


When the bright lights and flashing cameras of Hollywood capture your every move, how can you fulfill your deepest desires? For Zack Greene, a formerly out-of-control actor, and Steve Michaels, the director who unearthed the heart of the man beneath the ego, it’s a constant struggle.  In public, Steve and Zack are the picture of professional partners. However, behind closed doors, their partnership is taken to a new level. They engage in a carefully constructed Dom/sub relationship that not only brings them pleasure, but keeps Zack from slipping back into his wild ways. Their delicate balance is thrown askew when a producer on the show threatens to expose their lifestyle, while taking advantage of Zack in a moment of vulnerability. Will Steve be able to ease the pain and save the love they share? Or will they come apart when they need each other most?

SLAVE's Review


Action was a great story. I felt like I was reading one of those Inside Hollywood magazines that tell you about the lives of movie stars. It read very true and believable. I would recommend this book and would read it again. 4 ½ pens

Monday, July 9, 2012

Hot Summer Fun anthology book tour


It's Raining Men comes out with its summer anthology for 2012. Ten hot stories by ten hot authors.

Summer's Dawn by Sue Brown 

Together with his friends, Seth spends his summers watching the high school boys play beach volleyball. His girls are desperate to attract the attention of the hunks on the beach, but they can't complete with the older girls. Seth watches them too, content to let his friends think he's looking at the girls, until one day he realizes one of the boys is watching him back. Summers pass, and Seth and Joel continue to watch each other, yet it's never the right time to acknowledge their attraction.
Review:
Set in an unmentioned location with a timeline that contradicts itself, I found I could not get into this book. The characters had the potential to be more, but they were lost in this unrealistic story that leaves more questions than answers.  
1 pen

A Summer Night Fling by Raine Delight- 
Cal Larson wasn't expecting to find a hot sexy man stuck in a tree as he took his morning walk in the woods. When he meets Alex, sparks fly and these two find that love is waiting to claim them. Except Alex has a secret...one that may bring danger to Cal's doorstep. Can Cal find it in his heart to accept Alex and let this summer fling turn into something much more?
Review:
Cal seem to be just a little trusting, friendly and accepting for this to be a modern day story. Alex came off as selfish and weak with no honor or loyalty to his own people. 1 pen

Working Stiff by Sara York- 

When Josh finds himself out of work he jumps at the job his cousin arranges even though he hasn't done construction in years. His muscles are sore, his body aching but that doesn't keep him from noticing Zane, the hot foreman on the project. But admiring your boss and sleeping with him are two different degrees of stupid. Josh steers clear of Zane until they are thrust together one weekend.
Review:
I enjoyed this story very much. The characters and the scenario were believable. I was very pleased that this didn't turn out to be another story where some "small-town whosit" from "Nowhere USA" goes to the big city and conquers it when he never even left his porch until then.
4 pens

In the Heat of the Night by Lisa Worrall -
The heat wave gripping Southern California has driven Nick and Oliver apart—as far as their sleeping arrangements are concerned. Despite Nick’s complaints, the combination of the oppressive heat and the heat Nick himself generates, Oliver heads for the downstairs guest room. In the middle of the night, when Nick is awoken by mumblings and doors opening downstairs, his first thought is for Oliver’s safety. But will he find the burglar he suspects, or something more surprising?
Review:
I was kind of disappointed with this story. There was plenty of build-up with no "ta-da!" at the end. Not really a bad story, but I was hoping for more. 2 pens

Summer House by Jaxx Steele - 

Marcus’s twin brother asked him to take his place for the weekend at the summer house they owned in Key Largo. Marcus looked forward to a weekend by the pool, but it’s what he didn’t expect to find at the summer house that made his impromptu vacation one of the best he ever had.
Review:
I have read and enjoyed Jaxx Steele's books before, but wow. The characters were engaging and the flow wasn't rushed allowing the reader enjoy what was happening along with the the main character. This story was hot and emotion provoking. Excellent read! 5 pens 

Summer In The Wild by CR Guiliano - 
Gillian Daleth knew he was a rare breed. Being driven out of his pack proved it. No werewolf wanted a Delta in their pack. Gil spent the next sixteen years researching, getting a degree in European History while he was at it, and finding out exactly why he was not welcome in any wolf pack. Not that it bothered him. He considered himself a loner anyway. Until he met Jeriah Peirson. An Omega that was just as sweet as he could be. But Gil couldn’t mate with Jeriah. Not without an Alpha. And the only Alpha Gil knew was Laramie Cane. An Alpha that had no interest in a mate, or mates in Gil’s case.
Review:
Unfortunately this was one of the few books I could not finish. I’m aware it may have gotten better if I kept reading, but I was more than half done and had no desire to prove that point. 1 pen 

One Night in Paradise With You by Rawiya-
Peter Galley is a successful businessman taking a well deserved vacation to Hawaii after being overworked. He has one night left before he goes back to New York to fulfill his fantasy of having sex with a man. He meets Cruz Vallejo, resident surfer, party boy, a gorgeous town hunk. Peter immediately wants to make this man his conquest but will Cruz even notice, and if he does will he give Pete the chance?
Review:
This book delivered smoothly. Peter did what he set out to do, but when the deed was done I enjoyed the ride, but was a little disappointed with how the story ended. 3 pens

Air Bear by A.J. Llewellyn -
Hawaiian-born Kappy is thrilled to be back in the land of his ancestors with the man of his dreams, Jason, an Air Bear--Military Trooper--stationed at Wheeler Air Force Field. Kappy is excited to introduce his husband to all his island friends and to show him the sites. When they drive along the once-forbidden H3 Freeway, Jason is amused that Kappy seems so frightened about displeasing the old island gods. Kappy tries to explain the ancient kapu associated with it but his Air Bear is not convinced. Jason is now determined to prove that the legend about bad things happening if you take the drive with pork in the car is just local superstition. Mumbo jumbo. A silly myth...
Or is it?
Review:
The cool urban legend, lovely scenery and believable characters make this story a great read. 4 pens

Hot Summer Hogs by Patricia Logan
It's a sticky August week in the Black Hills of South Dakota. Every year, bikers from around the world gather in the town of Sturgis for the world's largest bike rally. Partying and fun along with men and women determined to have a good time, are a hot combination. Hook-ups and unadulterated excitement are everywhere. Cade Littlebear, famous custom bike builder and his husband Jake Maxfield join the sexy crowd for their first ever, bike rally. When Cade is challenged by a sexy ex, Jake is there to support his lover and keep his 'spirits' up. How he chooses to keep Cade's 'head' in the game, will leave you breathless and wanting more. When the rubber meets the road, the fun really begins. The heat of the day is cool in comparison to the scorching hot nightly activities of the sweaty, leather-clad lovers. Come and join the sexy heroes and a town bursting with "Hot Summer Hogs".
Review:
This tale did not lack sex scenes, but for me it was the case of too much of a good thing. The visuals were too descriptive at times. I felt like some of those guys should seek medical attention for the over abundance of leaking and dripping. 1 pen

A Midsummer's Night Pick-up by Ike Rose -

Hans Rotmusen is a twenty-five-year-old blond whose socially prominent family kicked him out when they discovered that he was gay after he fell in love with a fellow actor, Jonathan. Living in a small apartment with his lover was great, until Jonathan decided that he needed to marry a woman to hide his gay past. Hans, refusing to continue on the down-low, kicked him out. After two years alone, he's horny as hell, so he decides to go cruising in Central Park on Midsummer's Night of 1978. Under the magical moonlight, Goldilocks encounters Pappa Bear, a hot older bearded man, deep in the woods. Following the most passionate kiss of his young life, Hans is helplessly attracted to the gruff, rugged stud, but when they get to Pappa Bear's Den, he discovers a big surprise. Will Pappa Bear be Goldilocks' true love, or just a Midsummer’s Night Pickup?
Review:
This story was well written and flowed great. As a native New Yorker I longed to live in the time this book took place as it was unlike the New York that I know. The life of the main character was flawlessly magical. It was the stuff dreams are made of. 3 pens 

Overview:
This anthology didn't completely suck. There were a few stories that I liked very much and some I simply didn't enjoy at all, but that is the beauty of an anthology: you get variety.  
For me, the jewels of this antho were Working Stiff, Summer House and Air Bear. Their presence in this grouping make the $5.99 price tag worth it.

Saturday, July 7, 2012

Gigolo Seduction, by Fierce Dolan


Long in passion’s service, confident Asif enjoys his life as a thirty-something escort, bringing romance into the lives of metropolitan socialite cougars. Gifted at seducing wealthy white MILFs and bringing them endless pleasure, the arrogant Persian eschews investing in a personal life. A chance meeting with young artist, Cass, while on the job at a gala event, changes his perspective on women forever, and unleashes desires Asif never knew he had.

Goddess’s Review
I would classify this story as erotica rather than romance. Having said that, I will review it as such. For a short erotica story it wasn’t bad. With only 18 reading pages Gigolo Seduction had to come right to the point and it did. Asif was used to having the upper hand with the older women he dealt with and he basks in the glory of being able to give them pleasure. When Asif encounters Cass there is a mutual attraction. At their second meeting Cass doesn’t give Asif a chance to turn on the charm he uses so easily. She takes the lead and seduces the gigolo leaving him stunned and out of his element in a good way. 3 pens

Thursday, July 5, 2012

26 Nights, A sexual Adventure



Steven Walling was challenged to make love to twenty-six women across the alphabet, from 'Abigail' to 'Zelda.' Our hero beds divas, debutantes, playgirls, politicians, evangelists and entrepreneurs, throughout the boudoirs, boardrooms, and bedrooms of a great American city. Win or lose, it will be a romp between the letters--and the sheets--that spells nothing but pleasure. From the pages of Penthouse magazine comes an erotic novel that gives an all-new meaning to the ABCs.

Goddess's Review:
Steven Walling was funny, charming, witty and even a bit conceited, but it didn’t take away from his appeal. Ms. Greenglass was great as well. While she knew women of all backgrounds, ages, class and races fell victim to his will, Ms. Greenglass held her own against his charms sparring with him verbally keeping him at bay. This, of course, only made Steven want her more. I found myself cheering for him, wanting him to win his challenge. I loved this book. I laughed out loud at parts and felt bad for Steven when a few situations got out of control for him. I will be reading it again just to laugh at Steven getting caught up. It was my favorite scene.
5 pens

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Secret Cravings Five Hearts anthology


Five romantic, Valentine's Day inspired love stories told by five Secret Cravings Publishing romance authors:

 HOT AND SPICY VALENTINE – Sable Hunter
Seth Walker is man-candy – tall dark and handsome – a man of few words.  As the boss and owner of Beaucoup, which grows Louisiana’s famed hot and spicy peppers; Seth doesn’t advertise that he stutters when he speaks. But when he sees the delectable Riley Jacobs being harassed by a local bully, he doesn’t hesitate to voice his displeasure.   
Riley was just about to give up on love.  Even though she had slimmed down, no one in her small town could see her as any different – they still treated her as if she was shy, awkward and overweight.  Tired of being alone, she had made up her mind to quit her job as factory nurse and move away from Egret Island if this Valentine’s Day proved to be as big a disappointment as all of the others in her life had been. 
But when Seth comes to her rescue, he satisfies every craving Riley has ever had.  Seth’s touch is hot – his kisses are spicy – and this Valentine’s Day might prove to be perfect, after all. 
Review:
This was a great short story. I liked the characters very much. The build-up to the sex and the actual lovemaking was very stimulating and nicely done. 4pens 
LOST IN THE SEA OF YOU – Cynthia Arsuaga
He found the boat in late afternoon, on a February day as cold and dry as it gets in Maine. That’s how the adventure began for Mikael Larson, ex-Army, relatively new sheriff and unattached man in a small town. Starting uneventfully at home, by the time he walked into the station, the day turned weird on the way to unexplainable and a lifetime of love satisfied in death.
Review:
A hauntingly good story. This book was smoothly delivered and kept me engaged until the end. 4pens 

CUPID'S TARGET – Dana Littlejohn
April Harding didn’t like anything about winter and that included Valentine’s Day. She counted it as a stroke of bad luck that it was her turn to accompany her boss to a party for an impromptu meeting with a potential client. The only thing that softened the blow was that he offered to buy the dress she would wear.
Upon her arrival, Grant Murphy spied April in the doorway. He knew at that moment that she had to be his. Can Grant convince April it not only was good luck that she was there but that they even met and should be together? 
Review:
A completely enjoyable ride that truly delivers sensual romance with a heavy dose of passion. 4 1/2 pens  
ACCIDENTAL VALENTINES – Daisy Dunn
Catrina fell asleep on the couch waiting for her husband to arrive home from work to celebrate a Valentine’s evening together. Awoken from her sleep, two police officers stood at her front door. They sadly informed her that her husband has been killed in a car crash. Getting lost in her pain, she shut out the world until almost five years later, when her new neighbor moved in next door, bringing feelings of longing back into her lonely, quiet existence.
Alex’s wife had left him for another man. He was hurt but realized he’d been partially to blame for the demise of their marriage. He worked long hours and spent less time at home and more time running his growing company. Deciding to overhaul his life, he sold his business and home, and moved to a new area in the city. While in a compromising position, he meets his new neighbor, Catrina, and hasn’t stop thinking about her. She’s everything he’s ever wanted, and if he can win her love and trust, he will do everything in his power to keep it.
Review:
The book opened with betrayal and tragedy. The beginning was a little slow, but not stagnant. It rebounded into a very nice read. 4 pens
FOREVER KIND OF LOVE – Sandy Sullivan
Becky O'Rourke hates Valentine's Day. From the moment her boyfriend broke her heart the year before, she doesn't want anything to do with the day for lovers. Can the possibility of a new love turn her head and heal her heart?
Seth Reardon feels like an ass. Convinced he's not good enough for Becky, he breaks her heart and tells her they can't see each other anymore. Faced with the fact that she's moved on with her life and is seeing someone new, Seth realizes he loves her more than he did before and wants her back.
With the help of Becky's best friend Emma, Seth comes up with a plan to win the woman of his dreams, but will she turn her back on their love for attraction to a new man?
Review:
I think I would have enjoyed this story more if it didn't jump around so much. There was so much information hitting on several genres that I got confused on what the story was truly about. 3 pens
SLAVE's Overall review:
I'd recommend this anthology. The differences in the stories helped make Valentine's Day unique. I look forward to reading other stories from these authors and more anthologies from the publisher.